Markets

Facebook releases snooze button to mute people for 30 days

Facebook releases snooze button to mute people for 30 days

Facebook recently added a mute button or a snooze option that enables you to unfollow someone temporarily or for 30 days. "It turns out, you're not alone", wrote Shruthi Muraleedharan, Facebook Product Manager, in a blogpost.

On Friday the site announced a new function, called Snooze, which allows users to mute people from their timelines for 30 days without having to unfollow or delete them altogether.

The people, pages, and groups you snooze won't be notified. "You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time".

Facebook is calling this new feature "Snooze", and it's one we've heard about before.




Viewed from the other side of the table, the groups will likely appreciate it as Snooze could mean more people will stick around in controversial times rather than outright leaving.

The new feature is a temporary alternative to the "unfollow" option, which prevents users seeing posts from individuals until otherwise stated. That is why the company hopes that it will provide its users a more positive user experience. A sexual assault survivor may benefit from temporarily snoozing posts from news organizations they follow as potentially triggering sexual assault coverage continues to dominate the news cycle. However, this feature comes as the company faces serious questions about its adverse effects on society.

It happens to the best of us.

For now, our Facebook here has not been updated with the new feature, but we should expect to see it here very soon, as Facebook has simply said it is rolling the feature out globally today. As with unfriending / unfollowing, you'll find snoozing in the top-right menu of a post.