IPL 2018: Mumbai Indians to face CSK in opener

IPL 2018: Mumbai Indians to face CSK in opener

(G.N.S) DT.15 MUMBi Indian Premier League the world's most prestigious and cash-rich Twenty20 tournament, is back again with its 11th edition.

The 11th edition of the premier T20 league will begin on April 7, 2018 in Mumbai and CSL will be playing the opening game against Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium. Then, the winning team of Eliminator 1 will play against the losing team of Qualifier 1 (in Eliminator 2) for an entry in the final.

Fans in Chennai and Jaipur will get their share of the IPL frenzy as M.A. Chidambaram Stadium and the Sawai Mansingh Stadium will host home matches of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals respectively. Their remaining four home games will he held in Mohali.

The IPL governing council had last month accepted the broadcaster Star Sports' request to shift the timings of the matches.

It has also been confirmed that all the franchises, with the exception of the Kings XI Punjab, will play all seven of their home games at their designated venues.

The broadcaster had recommended that the second match of the day start at 7pm instead of the earlier 8pm, while pushing 4pm match to a 5.30pm start.

The first of the 12 double headers will be played on 8th April with Delhi Daredevils hosting Kings XI Punjab at Feroz Shah Kotla while Royal Challengers Bangalore will head to Eden Gardens to take on Kolkata Knight Riders.

An early start would have meant an early conclusion to the matches in the night, ensuring prime time coverage.