Global News

Bidhya Devi Bhandari re-elected as Nepal's President for second term

Bidhya Devi Bhandari re-elected as Nepal's President for second term

Bhandari was first elected president on October 28, 2015. Bhandari defeated Kumari Laxmi Rai from Opposition Nepali Congress with a staggering majority in the Presidential election.

President Bidya Bhandari got re-elected on Tuesday as the Head of the State, but the euphoria with which Nepalis celebrated her emergence as the country's first female President two years ago is somewhat muted. Vote-weightage of each voter of the House of Representatives and National Assembly was 79, while that of each Provincial Assembly member was equivalent to 48, The Himalayan Times reported.

Voting has begun at the Nepal parliament, for election of the new President of the country.

The UML and its coalition partner, the former rebel Maoists, enjoy almost two-thirds majority in the parliament, which assured Bhandari's victory.

Former UML leader Bhandari's candidacy has been backed by the ruling party and its ally CPN Maoist Centre.

While Bhandari's elevation was smooth, local media reports indicated a tense meeting among the UML's top leaders during endorsement of the party's candidate for president.

"We have made the arrangements to count the votes after the voting concludes. the results will be out by the evening", the Election Commission's spokesperson, Nawaraj Dhakal, told ANI in an interview. A total of 78 federal lawmakers and 116 provincial lawmakers voted for Rai.

Out of the 334 federal parliament members, 326 members cast their votes in the election.

There are also 59 members of the National Assembly who can vote, minus three nominees of the National Assembly whose appointments have been challenged at the Supreme Court.

She will be administered the oath of office by the Chief Justice on Wednesday.