Global News

Telugu voters defeated BJP in Gorakhpur?

Telugu voters defeated BJP in Gorakhpur?

In Bihar, with the opposition RJD-Congress alliance defeating the ruling BJP-JD (U) alliance in two out of three seats, the result is being seen as pointing out the general mood in the state, since this is the first electoral battle in the state after chief minister Nitish Kumar, JD (U) chief, walked out of the alliance with the RJD and the Congress and joined the BJP-led NDA previous year.

Samajwadi Party (SP), backed by its arch-rival BSP, scripted a major political upset in Uttar Pradesh on Wednesday by snatching BJP's two of the most prestigious Lok Sabha seats - Gorakhpur and Phulpur.

BJP's Rinky Rani Pandey has won Bhabhua Assembly seat while the RJD has won the Jehanabad Assembly seat.

In Wednesday's results of the two by-elections, SP's Praveen Kumar Nishad won Gorakhpur by defeating BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla by 21,961 votes.

While the Dalit voters of Mayawati responded to her call to vote for the Samajwadi Party candidate, the RSS slogan of "Hindu unity" did not cut much ice. The NDA allies had polled 43.3 per cent votes.

His now-deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya held Phulpur - a seat once represented by India's first PM Jawaharlal Nehru that BJP won for the first time in 2014 when Narendra Modi swept to power at the Centre. The victory in the Bhabua Assembly seat is poor consolation for the JD (U)-BJP combine in the state.

The timing of the bypoll losses comes just four days before the Yogi government completes a year in office, for which the BJP had planned an elaborate celebration. Over and above that, there is the question of the BJP having enough time to regroup and play on the divisions both within these parties and between them. The Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party do not work well together.

The by-poll in Araria was forced by the RJD MP Mohammed Taslimuddin's death.

The Congress, which had lost in all the 25 seats in Rajasthan in 2014 polls, managed to make a comeback in the state early this year as it won the Lok Sabha by-polls in Alwar and Ajmer.

According to the Lok Sabha Secretariat, the BJP has 274 MPs in the lower house excluding the Speaker of the House. Recent by-elections in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh had corroborated it. The party retained the seat in the by-poll.

For a clearer picture of whether the BJP has indeed learnt the right lessons from the latest round of defeats in the Hindi heartland and is willing and able to apply the required correctives, however, one will have to wait for the outcome of the next round of Assembly elections in Karnataka, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. Having to distribute seats in a manner that does not lead to disaffection among two cadres that do not like each other across the entire state is another matter altogether.

BREAKING: BJP's lead in Gorakhpur now reduced to 1600. Incidentally, this assembly segment is represented by Uttar Pradesh Health Minister Siddharth Nath Singh.