Science

WhatsApp Messages Can Now Be Deleted An Hour After Posting

WhatsApp Messages Can Now Be Deleted An Hour After Posting

The "Delete for Everyone" feature was introduced by WhatsApp a year ago in November which allowed the users to delete a sent message within 420 seconds or 7 minutes.

Now, we have learned that the company has increased its time limit to 4096 seconds, that is around 1 hour 8 minutes.

WhatsApp users can understand that a message has been deleted with the "This message has been deleted" prompt in their chat window.




This additional time could help facilitate more temporary conversations on WhatasApp. However, many Android users, through unauthorised WhatsApp versions could delete WhatsApp message as old as 3 years.

Now, WhatsApp has silently added another feature called "Block revoke request" in order to stop users from exploiting the "Delete for Everyone" feature.

WhatsApp then finds a message in the database having the same ID and matches it with that of the message requested to be revoked by the sender. Messages that have a time more than the 24 hours are no more deleted. According to WABetaInfo, WhatsApp's "Block revoke request" feature will quietly add some protection to prevent misuse of the "Delete for Everyone" feature. This message has the same ID as the one the user wants to delete. Along with this, the report also suggests that if the phone of the user is switched off during the time the Delete for Everyone' request has been sent out and it remains off for next 24 hours, then the request generated will be considered invalid and the message will remain in the app. In new versions of the app, the messaging service will limit the revoke request to 24 hours, and also check the date of the message along with the ID before applying "Delete for everyone".