Women's T20 Challenge to be played in Mumbai on May 22

Women's T20 Challenge to be played in Mumbai on May 22

Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced both the teams for the upcoming Women's T20 Challenge match to be played ahead of the IPL Qualifier 1 at the Wankhede Stadium here.

According to a BCCI statement, Indian stars including Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana will be the star attractions for the game titled Women's T20 Challenge.

Alyssa Healy (wk), Smriti Mandhana (capt), Suzie Bates, Deepti Sharma, Beth Mooney, Jemimah Rodrigues, Danielle Hazell, Shikha Pandey, Lea Tahuhu, Jhulan Goswami, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Dayalan Hemalatha.

Australian stars Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry will be a part of Harmanpreet-led IPL Supernovas. The BCCI said in its statement that decision has been taken considering the success of the Indian team, which reached the final of the World Cup-2017.

The T20 match will feature 26 players including 10 global stars from England, Australia and New Zealand.

Alyssa Healy, Australia's wicketkeeper-batter, Beth Mooney, Australia's opener, Suzie Bates, the veteran New Zealand all-rounder, are some of the global stars in the Trailblazers' set-up. "We see it build into a women's IPL tournament in a couple of years".

Diana Edulji, former India women's captain and a CoA member, has been pressing for a women's IPL.

The exhibition match is scheduled to begin at 2 pm and all the IPL rules will be followed.