Broncos nominated for 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame

Broncos nominated for 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame

The Steelers are well represented among the nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019. Dolphin fans will recognize a few former fan favorites on the list.

Joining Gonzalez on the ballot are three other players in their first year of eligibility: cornerback Champ Bailey, safety Ed Reed and linebacker London Fletcher. To this day, Mitchell holds National Football League records for most total return yards, most all-purpose yards in a single decade, combined return yards in the postseason, and many other return records. Come January, that number will be trimmed further to 15 finalists.

The roster of nominees has 47 offensive players, 39 defensive players, five special-teams players and 11 coaches. Only five men coached more than his 357 games, and he went 190-165-2 with the Denver Broncos, New York Giants and Atlanta Falcons, with four Super Bowl appearances.

Bailey began his career with Washington in 1999 as the seventh overall draft choice.

Also on the ballot are former Chiefs coaches Marty Schottenheimer and Dick Vermeil.

The list of 102 will be narrowed down to 25 semifinalists in November. The finalists will consist of 15 Modern-Era finalists, the recently named Senior Finalist, Johnny Robinson, and the Contributor Finalists, Pat Bowlen and Gil Brandt.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2019 will be formally enshrined on Saturday, Aug. 3, 2019 in Canton.